Alzheimer’s

Forewarning – this is not the usual, cheerful, crafty post.  I’ve had a bad day.

Alzheimer’s is a cruel disease.  Not only does it rob a person of memories and the knowledge to perform simple, routine tasks for oneself, it causes changes in personality and demeanor.  A competent, highly intelligent woman who was very sociable has been turned into the wicked witch of the west, cursing at staff and abusing other residents.

Today I met with four members of the nursing home staff, who told me I have to find someplace else for my mother.  They feel she needs to be in a specialized Alzheimer’s unit. 

So the search begins.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. (((hugs))) to you and your mother. I’m so sorry. Alzheimer’s is horrible.

    Reply
  2. I’m so sorry, for both of you. Sending so much love.

    Reply
  3. There are no words I have to express my feelings, yet I empathize with painful situations beyond our control. May you be blessed with a better facility to care for your Mother. May you be blessed with peace of mind. ~Dixie

    Reply
  4. I am so sorry to hear about your mother, it is indeed a cruel illness, I sincerely hope you find somewhere you are both comfortable with.
    Elaine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Mountain Home Blog

"No moose or bear this home shall wear!"

TripCrush

gathering experiences near and far

summer larson design

handcrafted baby hats and apparel

Connected

The HandMade in America Blog

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

lyndamichele

Just another WordPress.com site

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

amandajocrafts

Crocheting: Efficiency in the Procrastination of Real Life

fullofawe

Just another WordPress.com site

