Remembering 9-11

Earlier today I was reading an Etsy forum thread in which many people shared what they were doing eleven years ago today.  I found it very moving, and it brought back lots of memories, thoughts and feelings.

I was at work when it happened.  Many of us managers were in a required management training class.  When we took a break half way through the morning is when I found out.  The class continued, so I didn’t really get to find out details, or see pictures until I got home that evening.

I remember thinking that I had never gotten around to visiting the World Trade Center.  I remembered when it was built, and took over ‘tallest building’ label from the Empire State building.

I remember my daughter, a freshman in college, being scared and calling me for reassurance.

I remember so many people donating blood that wasn’t needed after all.

I remember watching the same images over and over on TV; the hole in the side of the World Trade Center, the plumes of black smoke, the towers falling, the ash everywhere.

I remember seeing people on the streets with pictures of loved ones, asking if anyone had seen them.

I remember the feelings of pride and gratitude for those brave men on an airplane over Pennsylvania who made a difference. 

I remember thinking “How could this happen?  In the USA?” And what is going to happen next?

I remember being thankful for the outpouring of support from other countries around the world. 

I was impressed by the mayor of New York City, and the men and women of the police and fire departments who went into those buildings, having to know they probably wouldn’t come out again.  They were so brave.

I remember thinking how New Yorkers always acted like New York was the center of the universe, and for that day, it was.

I remember thinking how quiet it was with no planes in the skies, no contrails from the jet engines.

Remembrance is a good thing.  It helps to put today into perspective. 

September 11, 2001 is a day we will never forget.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Mountain Home Blog

"No moose or bear this home shall wear!"

TripCrush

gathering experiences near and far

summer larson design

handcrafted baby hats and apparel

Connected

The HandMade in America Blog

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

lyndamichele

Just another WordPress.com site

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

LE ZOE MUSINGS

A Creative Lifestyle Blog KELLIE VAN

amandajocrafts

Crocheting: Efficiency in the Procrastination of Real Life

fullofawe

Just another WordPress.com site

