Trees, Flowers and Visitors

The High Country, as this part of North Carolina is called, is beautiful at all times of the year.  These pictures capture the end of summer.

I have hanging baskets and planters full of Petunias and Geraniums on my front porch.  We love to sit on the porch swing in the evening and enjoy the bright colors.  And although I’ve been told it’s too cold here in the winter for Crepe Myrtles to survive, you can see I have a beautiful, full rose red one planted at the end of my flower beds.

This plant is a weed, but the gold finches love it.  I’ve counted as many as six of them feeding off this one plant at any one time.

We have lots of four legged critters around here, too.  This summer we have gotten to watch these twin fawns and their momma.  We usually see them early in the morning in the cemetery next door, and at the bottom of our yard many evenings.  You can see the morning fog hanging over the cemetery in these pictures.  The deer are quite tame, and cute, but they like to eat my veggies, rose bushes and phlox.  I do hope the hunters leave them alone this Fall.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. i see deer all the time around my apartment. Have to remember to drive slow. Love your flowers.

    Reply
  2. It truly is just beautiful here.

    Reply
  3. I know exactly what you mean. Hunting season is just around the corner and it always makes me sad. I live out in the country and deer live in the woods behind my house. I look out my sewing room window and have seen fawns lounging in my yard many times. I cringe when I drive down the road and see trucks parked in the fields because I know what it means. Those are MY deer!

    I love flowers that attract birds and butterflies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Mountain Home Blog

"No moose or bear this home shall wear!"

TripCrush

gathering experiences near and far

summer larson design

handcrafted baby hats and apparel

Connected

The HandMade in America Blog

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

lyndamichele

Just another WordPress.com site

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

amandajocrafts

Crocheting: Efficiency in the Procrastination of Real Life

fullofawe

Just another WordPress.com site

