Bath or Shower?

I just spent a lovely Sunday morning scrubbing the bathroom, and after twisting my body in contortionist positions trying to scrub the garden tub, I wondered again how many people actually ever use one?

I am a shower kind of person.  I like a nice big shower, preferably with a seat or ledge in it so I can rest my foot on it while shaving my legs.  I like the feel of the water cascading over my head when I wash my hair.  I like to set the shower head on a pulsating spray so I can massage my back and shoulders.  And I like to feel clean when I am done, meaning I have rinsed away all the soap residue.

I am not comfortable sitting in the tub.  I mean, it’s hard, ya know?  The top of me gets cold. If I slide down in the tub to get most of me under the water, I’m in an awkward position and it makes my back hurt.  In romance novels, the heroine always has a bubble bath, with candles lit, a glass of wine and good book.  Bubbles baths were fun as a kid, but now my skin is really sensitive to all that stuff.  Not to mention that I’ve never successfully managed to read in the tub without getting my book wet.

I do make use of the tub.  I put plants in it when I have to bring them in for winter.  I dry clothes.  I have a friend who uses hers as a hamper for the dirty towels. 

So, what’s your preference – bath or shower?  And why?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Connie

     /  September 30, 2012

    Been in my house 20 years. Never taken a bath; I would have to remove/wash the dirty towels. ha-ha

    Reply
  2. I love taking baths. I don’t have much hot water, so showers get cold really fast. I’ll run the bath water and boil a pot of water on the stove to add to it and then just enjoy the warmth.

    Reply
  3. Good post! I do take showers 99% of the time, but there are those days when a hot bath, a couple candles, and a glass of wine are worth a million bucks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Mountain Home Blog

"No moose or bear this home shall wear!"

TripCrush

gathering experiences near and far

summer larson design

handcrafted baby hats and apparel

Connected

The HandMade in America Blog

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

lyndamichele

Just another WordPress.com site

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

amandajocrafts

Crocheting: Efficiency in the Procrastination of Real Life

fullofawe

Just another WordPress.com site

